Project Description

DER WURZERHOF
A picturesque ensemble lives on

The Wurzerhof in East Tyrol is a scenic ensemble. It consists of a single-roof farm with several outbuildings, such as a laundry room/smoke room, a chapel, and a grain and sawmill. It is situated in the very secluded area in the Winkeltal valley near Ausservillgraten.

The first known mention of the farm dates back to 1433, so it can look back on a long and varied history. It is a living piece of the past in the modern world. The estate was formerly run as a full-time farm with its own mill, forge, baking oven, sawmill and carpentry workshop. It is now a successful business, lovingly run by the Leiter family – Elena, Veronika and Sepp.

Back in the day, around 20 – 30 artisans worked at the Wurzerhof. The equipment that they required as foresters, carpenters, cobblers and joiners was all home-made. With the help of the Villgraten Heimatpflegeverein (a local preservation society), the Leiter family have turned the basement of the main building into a fine museum with a small blacksmith’s forge, a hearth, a baking oven, and a workshop with a range of equipment and and traditional tools from the region.

The main building and the chapel were rebuilt in 1882, having been destroyed by a flood. Its appearance has hardly changed since then.

In 1867, the grain mill was turned into a three-in-one mill, following a flood. In 1952, the mill wheels were torn away as a result of yet another flood. The mill was electrified in 1955. The mill was restored in the year 2000.

The sawmill, which was constructed in 1876, stands in the direct vicinity of the River Winkeltalbach. After the flood in 1952, in which the driving wheels were torn away, the saw was electrified. At that time, two lumberjacks worked almost around the clock in the sawmill workshop. The boards that they cut were sent by horse and cart to Venice.

The former laundry/smoke room gives visitors a glimpse of the olden days.

Since 2001, the ensemble consisting of the main building, the chapel, the museum, the sawmill and flour mill, the wash room, and the blacksmith’s workshop, has been a listed building.

Alpine history and culture await visitors to the Wurzerhof farm.

Contact

Address Contact details
Winkeltal 114 

9931 Ausservillgraten

Phone: +43 (0) 664 5166375

E-Mail: info@wurzerhof.at 

Web: www.wurzerhof.at

Opening hours

Mid-My to 26. October

Guided tours every Friday at 10 a.m.

Friday 14:00 – 18:00 o’clock

Guided tours for more than 10 people only by prior appointment

Entrance fees

Adults € 6,50
Groups of 15 people or more
€ 5,50
Children up to 10 years
free

Information

Vroni & Sepp Leiter, general inquiries and guided tours

Phone: +43 (0) 664 51 66 375

AGENCY

Family Leiter

Project Description

DER WURZERHOF
Ein malerisches Ensemble lebt weiter

Der Wurzerhof in Osttirol ist ein landschaftliches Ensemble, das aus einem Einhof mit mehreren Nebengebäuden, wie Waschküche/Selche, Kapelle, Getreide- und Sägemühle besteht und sehr abgeschieden im Winkeltal bei Ausservillgraten liegt.

Erstmals erwähnt wurde der Hof bereits im Jahre 1433, er kann also auf eine lange und wechselvolle Geschichte zurückblicken, er ist ein lebendiges Stück Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart. Wurde das Anwesen früher als Vollerwerbsbetrieb mit hofeigener Mühle, Schmiede, Backofen, Säge und Tischlerei geführt, ist es heute ein von der Familie Leiter, Elena, Veronika und Sepp, mit viel Liebe geführtes Unternehmen.

Auf dem Wurzerhof waren seinerzeit 20 – 30 Handwerker beschäftigt. Die Arbeitsgeräte, welche sie als Forstleute, Zimmerer, Schuster oder Tischler brauchten, fertigten sie selbst an. Im Untergeschoss des Hauptgebäudes hat Familie Leiter mit tatkräftiger Hilfe des Heimatpflegevereins Villgraten ein feines Museum mit einer kleinen Schmiede, Esse, einem Backofen und einer Werkstätte mit einer Vielzahl von Arbeitsgeräten und traditionellen Handwerksgegenständen aus der Region eingerichtet.

Das Hauptgebäude und die Kapelle wurden nach der Zerstörung durch ein Hochwasser 1882 wiederaufgebaut. Seitdem hat sich das Erscheinungsbild kaum geändert.

1867 wurde die Getreidemühle nach einem Hochwasser wieder als Dreifachmühle errichtet. 1952 – wiederum bei einem Hochwasser – wurden alle Mühlenräder weggerissen. 1955 wurde dann die Mühle elektrifiziert. Im Jahre 2000 wurde die Mühle restauriert.

Die Sägemühle, die im Jahre 1876 erbaut wurde, liegt direkt am Winkeltalbach. Nach dem Hochwasser 1952, bei dem die Antriebsräder weggerissen wurden, wurde die Säge elektrifiziert. Zwei Holzknechte arbeiteten damals beinahe rund um die Uhr im Sägewerk. Die dort geschnittenen Bretter wurden mit den Pferden bis nach Venedig gebracht.

Die ehemalige Kuchl mit Waschvorrichtung und einer Selche zeigt einen Ausblick zurück in alte Zeiten.

Seit 2001 steht das Ensemble mit Hauptgebäude, Kapelle, Museum, Säge- und Getreidemühle, Waschhütte und Schmiede unter Denkmalschutz.

Den Besuchern und Besucherinnen erwartet am Wurzerhof alpenländische Geschichte und Kultur.

Kontakt

Adresse Kontaktdetails
Winkeltal 114 

9931 Ausservillgraten

Tel. +43 (0) 664 5166375

E-Mail: info@wurzerhof.at 

Web: www.wurzerhof.at

Öffnungszeiten

Mitte Juni bis Mitte September
nur nach Voranmeldung
Führung Freitags bei min. 10 Personen 14:00 Uhr

Eintritt

Erwachsene € 6,50
Gruppen ab 15 Personen
€ 5,50
Kinder bis 10 Jahre
frei

Auskunft

Vroni & Sepp Leiter, allgemeine Anfragen und Führungen

Tel. +43 (0) 664 51 66 375

TRÄGER

Familie Leiter