Project Description

LOCAL MUSEUM KALS

The Heimatmuseum Kals (Local Museum Kals), which opened in 1974, is housed in an old primary school and presents a comprehensive exhibition of various types of objects representing the history of this municipality located at the foot of the Großglockner. A tour of the exhibitions on one floor, which is “heralded” by the chime of the old church clock dating back to 1759, reveals a colourful spectrum of local history that goes a long way back. 

Goat horns which are over 4,000 years old, along with a hoard of ancient coins, are on display in a cultural centre at the foot of the Grossglockner.

Take a tour and discover ancient musical instruments, important equipment used by mountain guides, various pieces of craft equipment, winter sports gear, a whole host of religious objects, countless examples of rural handicrafts, utensils and clothing items that reflect the lifestyle of the people of Kals over the centuries.

The Local Museum is home to an impressive machine – a water-powered mill (“Wollkartatsche”) used for processing sheep’s wool. The wool is untangled and made ready for spinning, before it is moved to the spinning wheel. A giant loom, used for making wool and flax into fine cloth, is also on display. Also on show is an old machine which was used to clean grain and sort it by granule size, as well as old fire engine dating back to 1908, which was used by the Kals fire department.

The Local Museum Kals also houses a large picture archive.

A particular highlight of the permanent exhibition is the original smoke house (“Rachkuchl”), with a built-on parlour. The smoke house, which is the farmhouse kitchen, has an open hearth, a copper kettle, iron pans, a wood-fired oven for baking bread, a laundry area, and a children’s bath. The smoke house was also used for smoking bacon.

In the parlour, there is a brick oven with a rack which was used for drying clothes, a stove bench, and a ceiling wreath in honour of the Holy Spirit. The parlour was not just used for eating. The family would also spin, sew, knit, play cards, sing and even sleep in there.

Contact

Address Contact Details
Ködnitz 18

A-9981 Kals

Municipal Office Kals

Phone: +43 (0)4876 8210

E-Mail: gemeindeamt@kals.at

Web: www.kals.at

Opening hours

19. June – 9. October

Friday

16:0018:00 o’clock
[/fusion_table]

Entrance fees

Adults with guest card € 3,00
Adults without guest card € 4,00
Children over 14
€ 2,00

Information

Mayoress Erika Rogl –  Phone: +43 (0)4876 8210

Agency

Community Kals

Projekt Beschreibung

HEIMATMUSEUM KALS

Das im Jahre 1974 eröffnete Heimatmuseum Kals ist in der alten Volksschule untergebracht und präsentiert eine umfassende Schau von verschiedenen Kategorien von Objekten der Glocknergemeinde. Der vom Glockenschlag einer alten Kirchturmuhr aus dem Jahre 1759 „eingeläutete“ Rundgang durch die auf einer Etage gelegenen Ausstellungräume entfaltet ein buntes Spektrum und eine Regionalgeschichte, die weit zurückreicht.  

Mehr als 4.000 Jahre alte Steinbockhörner, alte Münzen etc. verweisen auf einen alten Kulturraum am Fuße des Großglockners.

Ein Rundgang zeigt alte Musikinstrumente, wichtige Ausrüstungsgegenstände der Bergführer, diverse handwerkliche Gerätschaften, Gegenstände für den Wintersport, umfangreiche religiöse Objekte, unzählige bäuerliche Handwerks- und Gebrauchsgegenstände sowie Bekleidungsgegenstände, die die Lebensweise der Kalser über die Jahrhunderte wiederspiegeln.

Das Heimatmuseum präsentiert eine beeindruckende Maschine –  die Wollkartatsche – zur Aufbereitung von Schafwolle. Damit wird die Wolle entfilzt und spinnfertig –  zur weiteren Verarbeitung auf dem Spinnrad – gemacht. Mit dem ebenfalls ausgestellten großen Webstuhl wurden Wolle und Flachs zu feinem Tuch verarbeitet. Gezeigt wird auch eine alte Kornputzmaschine, mit der das Getreide gereinigt und nach Korngrößen sortiert wurde. Ebenso zu sehen ist eine alte „Abprotzsprietze“ der Feuerwehr Kals aus dem Jahre 1908.

Das Heimatmuseum Kals besitzt auch eine große Bilddokumentation.

Ein besonderes Highlight in der Dauerausstellung ist die originale Rachkuchl mit angebauter Wohnstube. Die Küche im Bauernhaus, die Rachkuchl, hat einen offenen Herd, also eine offene Feuerstelle, kupferne Kessel, eiserne Pfannen, ein Holzschaffl zum Brot backen und Wäsche waschen und Kinder baden. Die Rachkuchl wurde auch zum Räuchern von Speck verwendet.

In der Stube, dem Wohnraum der Familie, befindet sich ein gemauerter Ofen mit Ofenstange zum Wäschetrocknen, eine Ofenbank und an der Decke ein Deckenkranz mit Heiligem Geist. In der Stube wurde nicht nur gegessen sondern auch Wolle gesponnen, genäht, gestrickt, Karten gespielt, gesungen und auch geschlafen.

Kontakt

Adresse Kontaktdetails
Ködnitz 18

A-9981 Kals

Gemeindeamt Kals

Phone: +43 (0)4876 8210

E-Mail: gemeindeamt@kals.at

Web: www.kals.at

Eintritt

Erwachsene mit Gästekarte € 3,00
Erwachsene ohne Gästekarte € 4,00
Kinder ab 14
€ 2,00

Auskunft

Bürgermeisterin Erika Rogl –  Tel. +43 (0)4876 8210

TRÄGER

Gemeinde Kals