Project Description

GLOCKNERHAUS KALS

In the year 2000, 200 years after the first climb of the Grossglockner, the highest mountain in Austria, the Glocknerhaus Museum in Kals was established. The exhibition “Under the spell of the Grossglockner” is a modern display. Its many rooms explore the themes of nature and minerals, human life, and Austria’s highest mountain. The content ranges from the settlement of these remote valleys in the Eastern Alps in prehistoric times, to the history of ascent attempts of the Grossglockner, and the region’s emerging tourism industry.

The natural area of the region is shown on a walk-through map, accompanied by the presentation of wildlife such as groundhogs, ibex and other animals. Another room is dedicated to people who have been influenced by this landscape and the harsh mountain climate. The hard agricultural work in the steep mountain meadows, the extremely harsh winters and the long time of seclusion have produced a number of religious and secular customs, which are also mentioned. Selected objects, such as fine handicrafts and useful tools, are evidence of the ingenuity of the local population. “The black mountain”, as Austria’s highest peak is called due to its dark rocks, also features strongly in the exhibition – in particular its geography and a history of ascent attempts.

Part of the exhibition is dedicated to mountaineering in the Eastern Alps, which has its roots in Kals. Since the mid-19th century, Kals mountain guides have enjoyed world renown for guiding scientists from the National Geographic Society in the Himalayas and Caucasus. The region’s mountain guides, the technique of mountaineering, the development of mountaineering and the construction of refuges round off the very appealing exhibition about the Grossglockner.

In the final room, unique and attractive minerals and crystals of all shapes and sizes, recovered from the Glocknerwand, are presented in an appealing and informative way.

Contact

Address Contact details
Ködnitz 18

A-9981 Kals

Phone: +43 (0) 50 21 25 40

E-Mail: gemeindeamt@kals.at

Web: www.kals.at

Opening hours

5. June – 26. June / 2. October – 30. Oktober
Friday
14:3017:30 o’clock
29. June – 25. September Monday, Wednesday – Friday
9:3016:00 o’clock

Information

Municipal office Kals

Phone: +43 (0) 4876 8210

AGENCY

Community Kals

Projekt Beschreibung

GLOCKNERHAUS KALS

200 Jahre nach der Erstbesteigung des höchsten Berg Österreichs, des Großglockner, wurde im Jahre 2000 das Glocknerhaus in Kals eröffnet. Die Ausstellung „Im Banne des Großglockner“ ist eine modern gestaltete Schau, die in mehreren Räumen die Themen Natur und Mineralien, Menschen und den höchsten Berg Österreichs vorstellt. Inhaltlich spannt sich der Bogen von der Besiedelung dieser entlegenen Täler der Ostalpen in prähistorischen Zeiten bis zur Geschichte der Besteigungen des Großglockners und dem aufkommenden Tourismus der Region.

Der Naturraum der Region wird anhand einer begehbaren Landkarte gezeigt, begleitet mit der Präsentation der Tierwelt, Murmeltiere, Steinbock und andere Tiere. Ein anderer Raum ist den Menschen gewidmet, die von dieser Landschaft und dem rauen Bergklima geprägt wurden. Die harte landwirtschaftliche Arbeit auf den steilen Bergwiesen, die extremen Winter und die lange Zeit der Abgeschiedenheit haben eine Reihe von religiösen und weltlichen Bräuchen hervorgebracht, die ebenfalls thematisiert werden. Ausgewählte Objekte, wie feines Kunsthandwerk und nützliche Arbeitsgeräte zeugen vom Erfindungsgeist der Bewohner. „Der schwarze Berg“, so wird Österreichs höchster Gipfel aufgrund des dunkelfarbigen Gesteins genannt, nimmt natürlich einen besonderen Stellenwert in der Ausstellung ein, insbesondere seine Geografie und die Geschichte der Besteigungen.

Dem Alpinismus in den Ostalpen, der seine Wurzeln in Kals hat, sind ebenfalls Teile der Schau gewidmet. Kalser Bergführer erlangten schon um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts dadurch Weltruf, dass sie Wissenschaftler der National Geographic Society im Himalaya und im Kaukasus führten. Den Bergführern der Region, der Technik des Bergsteigens und die Entwicklung des Alpinismus und die Errichtung der Schutzhütten sind jene Bereiche, die die sehr ansprechende Ausstellung zum Thema Großglockner abrundet.

In einem letzten Raum werden einzigartige und attraktive Mineralien und Kristalle, die aus der Glocknerwand geborgen wurden, in allen Größen ansprechend und lehrreich dargeboten.

Kontakt

Adresse Kontaktdetails
Ködnitz 18

A-9981 Kals

Tel. +43 (0) 50 21 25 40

E-Mail: gemeindeamt@kals.at

Web: www.kals.at

Öffnungszeiten

17. September bis 26. Oktober Montag – Samstag 9:3016:00 Uhr

Auskunft

Gemeindeamt Kals

Tel. +43 (0) 4876 8210

TRÄGER

Gemeinde Kals