Project Description

AGUNTUM

MUSEUM AND ARCHAEOLOGICAL PARK

Aguntum was a Roman settlement (Municipium Claudium Aguntum), which was located approx. 4 km from the modern-day area of Dölsach. Emperor Claudius (41 – 54 AD) gave the settlement city status. The following 2 centuries were the heyday of the new city of Aguntum. This was reflected in the construction of a city wall, several public and private buildings, and even a spa. In its heyday, the city’s influence extended from the Felbertauern in the north, to Mühlbach in the Puster Valley in the west, to the Kreuzbergsattel in the south, and to Oberdraubung in the east. From the 3rd century, Aguntum gradually lost its importance, due not least to its inconvenient location on the valley floor. Until the 5th century, however, the city was still inhabited, as proven by the headstones in an early Christian cemetery.

Although archaeological excavations have been carried out since 1912, only a small part of the former city has been scientifically studied. Discoveries made so far include the city wall, the atrium house, the craft district, the large spa, and the Macellum – a circular building, which probably served as a small market hall. The Atrium House is an archaeological wonder. No building of its kind has ever been found so far north. An 18-metre-high observation tower provides a good view of the excavation site, and visitors to the Archaeological Park can access the renovated and reconstructed areas uncovered by archaeological excavations.

The Aguntum Museum provides an insight into everyday life in Roman times. Artefacts from Aguntum and other areas of the former Noricum area are also on display.
At the centre of the permanent exhibition is a large marble basin, which was transferred from the garden of the Atrium House to the new building. Archaeological finds are clustered around the basin. Imitations from other archaeological sites have been added to the collection, to present a more rounded picture of Roman and alpine civilisation and culture.

The artefacts and imitations are supplemented by various items that also underline the message which the permanent exhibition is trying to communicate. A model shows the previously excavated parts of Aguntum. Other models demonstrate the functionality of Roman floor heating, and a miniature crane illustrates the role of its larger-scale counterparts in construction work. Virtual reality (VR) glasses let you experience reconstructed scenes from everyday Roman life.

The Curatorium pro Agunto association owns and operates the museum and archaeological park. The purpose of the museum is to professionally and permanently preserve archaeological finds from Aguntum. With the Archaeological Park, the association aims to reach beyond the scientific level, and make local history more accessible to a wider audience.

Contact

Adresse Kontaktdetails
Stribach 97 

A-9991 Dölsach 

Phone: +43 (0) 4852 – 61 550  

E-Mail: office@aguntum.at  

Web: www.aguntum.at  

Openin Hours

25. May to 13. September Daily 9:3016:00 o’clock
14. September to 1. November Wednesday – Saturday 9:30 16:00 o’clock

Entrance fees

Adults € 7,00
Adults concession
€ 6,00
Children, youths, students € 4,00
Children under 6 years free
Tours for groups of 10 or more people € 25,00
School groups, with guided tour € 4,00
School groups, without guided tour € 3,00
Combi ticket with Bruck Castle admission, adult € 11,50
Combi ticket with Bruck Castle admission, adult concession € 9,50
Combi ticket with Bruck Castle admission, family
€ 23,00

Information

Dr. Manfred Hainzl (managing director)

Phone: +43 (0) 650 31 46 9 46

AGENCY

Society Curatorium pro Agunto

Projekt Beschreibung

AGUNTUM

MUSEUM und ARCHÄOLOGISCHER PARK

Aguntum war eine römische Stadt (Municipium Claudium Aguntum), welche ca. 4 km östlich von Lienz in der jetzigen Gemeinde Dölsach lag. Der Kaiser Claudius (41 – 54. n. Chr.) erhob die Ansiedlung zu einem Municipium (Stadt). In den folgenden 2 Jahrhunderten erlebte die nunmehrige Römerstadt Aguntum eine Blütezeit, welche sich im Bau einer Stadtmauer, unzähliger privater und öffentlicher Gebäude, sowie einer Therme niederschlug. Zu den Hochzeiten reichte der Einfluss der Stadt vom Felbertauern im Norden über Mühlbach im Pustertal im Westen bis hin zum Kreuzbergsattel im Süden und Oberdrauburg im Osten. Ab dem 3. Jhdt. verlor Aguntum nicht zuletzt aufgrund seiner eigentlich suboptimalen Lage im Talboden sukzessive wieder an Wichtigkeit. Bis ins 5. Jhdt. wurde die Stadt aber weiterhin bewohnt, wovon auch eine frühchristliche Grabkirche zeugt.

Obwohl schon seit 1912 archäologische Ausgrabungen durchgeführt werden, ist erst ein kleiner Teil der ehemaligen Stadt wissenschaftlich untersucht worden. Bekannt sind bisher unter anderem die Stadtmauer, das Atriumhaus, das Handwerksviertel, die große Therme, sowie das Macellum, ein kreisrundes Gebäude, das vermutlich als kleine Markthalle diente. Eine kleine archäologische Sensation stellt das Atriumhaus dar, weil zuvor noch nie ein Gebäude dieser Bauart so weit nördlich gefunden worden ist. Ein 18 Meter hoher Aussichtsturm bietet heute einen guten Überblick über das Grabungsgelände, den für die Besucherinnen und Besucher des Archäologischen Parks durch Grabungen freigelegten, renovierten und rekonstruierten Bereich.

Das Museum Aguntum gibt Einblicke in das Alltagsleben zur Römerzeit und zeigt Exponate aus Aguntum, sowie anderen Gebieten der ehemaligen Provinz Noricum.
Im Mittelpunkt der Dauerausstellung steht das große, aus dem Garten des Atriumhauses in das neue Gebäude transferierte Marmorbecken. Um das Becken herum gruppieren sich archäologische Funde, die auch durch Nachbildungen aus anderen Fundorten erweitert wurden, um ein möglichst umfassendes Bild der Kultur und Zivilisation der Römerzeit in den Alpen darzustellen.

Ergänzt werden die Funde und die Rekonstruktionen durch verschiedene Modelle, die die Vermittlungsabsicht der Dauerausstellung zusätzlich hervorstreichen. Ein Modell zeigt die bisher ergrabenen Teile von Aguntum, andere Modelle zeigen die Funktionsweise römischer Bodenheizungen und ein Miniaturkran zeigt seine Funktionsweise bei Bauten. Mit sogenannten VR-Brillen lässt sich in rekonstruierten Szenen aus dem römischen Alltagsleben blicken.

Der Verein Curatorium pro Agunto ist Eigentümer und Betreiber des Museums und des Archäologischen Parks. Er verfolgt mit dem Museum das Ziel, archäologische Funde von Aguntum fachgerecht und dauerhaft aufzubewahren. Mit dem Archäologischen Park verfolgt der Verein das Ziel, geschichtliche Vorgänge über die wissenschaftliche Ebene hinaus für einen größeren, öffentlichen Interessentenkreis begreifbar und begehbar zu machen.

Kontakt

Adresse Kontaktdetails
Stribach 97 

A-9991 Dölsach 

Tel. +43 (0) 4852 – 61 550  

E-Mail: office@aguntum.at  

Web: www.aguntum.at  

Öffnungszeiten

1. Mai bis 9. Juni Montag – Samstag 9:3016:00 Uhr
10. Juni bis 16. September Montag – Sonntag 9:30 16:00 Uhr
17. September bis 26. Oktober Montag – Samstag 9:3016:00 Uhr

Eintritt

Erwachsene € 7,00
Erwachsene ermäßigt € 6,00
Kinder, Jugendliche, Studenten € 4,00
Kinder unter 6 Jahre frei
Führung ab 10 Personen € 25,00
Schülergruppen mit museumspädagogischer Führung € 4,00
Schülergruppen ohne museumspädagogische Führung € 3,00
Kombi-Ticket mit Schloss Bruck Erwachsene € 11,50
Kombi-Ticket mit Schloss Bruck Erwachsene ermäßigt € 9,50
Kombi-Ticket mit Schloss Bruck Familien
€ 23,00

Auskunft

Dr. Manfred Hainzl (Geschäftsführer)

Tel. +43 (0) 650 31 46 9 46

TRÄGER

Verein Curatorium pro Agunto