The basement of the chapel of rest at the foot of the picturesque hill where the church is located is home to the small Lavant Museum. It showcases part of a collection of antiquities from the area, and provides an overview of finds made during archaeological excavations in recent years.
The pieces on display in the museum provide a cross-section of the history of the area surrouding the hill, a model of which can be seen in the middle of the exhibition hall. It shows the exposed position of the ritual and settlement areas, surrounded by deep ravines on three sides. It also shows the ancient and medieval ruins which have been excavated, and the two currently existing churches – the Gothic Peter & Paul Church on the hill, and Saint Ulrich’s, the Baroque parish and pilgrimage church. The accumulation of churches and the proven ritual and settlement areas make this hill in the municipality of Lavant one of Tyrol’s most important mountains, with high cultural and historical value.
The oldest objects on display in the museum date back to the Bronze Age. They are ceramic storage vessels (from around 1600 BC), an Urnfield winged axe, and ceramics from North Africa. The more recent finds are from the Gothic period and include for example, 15th century frescoes from the parish church of St. Ulrich. Most objects are from the late antiquity period of the 3rd – 6th centuries AD. On display are a number of original Roman marble stones and a large piece of high-quality raw iron, which is evidence of sophisticated smithery on the hill.
Replicas of some pieces are on display. Most of the originals can be seen in the archaeological museum at the Bruck Castle in Lienz.